Web Accessibility Legislation Overview

Get an overview of the various web accessibility legislations and laws, find out what they entail, and the standards for compliance.
Illustrated globe coming out of a box, with hearts, an accessibility badge and a speak bubble saying

Web Accessibility Legislation vs. WCAG

In the past years, web accessibility legislation has increasingly been adopted by different countries and states. Legislation has been aimed at building awareness around- and enforcing the need for greater website accessibility.

However, an important note is that while most legislations impose the risk of penalties, they have not set their own standards for compliance. Rather most legislations refer to the internationally recognized Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) established by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and require compliance with one of their published versions, as well as levels of compliance.

The United States

In the United States, web accessibility legislation is primarily enforced by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), Title III and the Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. The ADA requires websites that operate as a public accommodation to be accessible, whereas Section 508 mandates that federal agencies ensure that their electronic and information technology is accessible. In recent years, many states have passed their own laws and legislation related to web accessibility.

Illustrated laptop showing the USA flag on the screen and two accessibility badges flying out of it.
By State
United States


California has enacted the Unruh Act that not only strictly enforces website accessibility, but also entitles plaintiffs to $4,000 compensation per infraction of the legislation.

United States

New York

In New York, the NYS P08-005 law establishes minimum accessibility requirements for web-based Information and applications by state entities.

United States


As part of the Eleventh Circuit, the courts of Florida have historically not viewed websites as a public accommodation as put forth by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

United States


Colorado has enacted House Bill 21-1110 “The Colorado Laws For Persons With Disabilities” requiring a higher degree of web accessibility compliance for government information technology.

United States


Illinois has passed House Bill 26 requiring a higher degree of digital accessibility, and compliance with WCAG 2.1 amongst all K-12 schools by August 1, 2022.

United States


Virginia’s Information Technology Access Act helps people to participate equally in crucial areas of life, such as education and employment.

United States


Washington State has enacted the IT Accessibility Policy 188 intended to ensure equal access data and web accessibility for people with disabilities.

United States


Minnesota's Accessible Technology Bill (H.F. 1744) requires state government to adopt standards based on Section 508 and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0).

United States


The Maryland Information Technology Non Visual Access Regulatory Standards includes all Section 508 regulations as well as a number of state-specific regulations.

United States


Arizona accessibility standards apply to all websites for all public state offices, branches, and departments, as well as organizations that receive state funding.


In Canada, all government websites are mandated to be accessible per the Accessible Canada Act (ACA) and there Common Look and Feel (CLF) standards currently require compliance with WCAG 2.0. In recent years, several provinces have taken notable steps to adopting web accessibility compliance legislation. Most notably, Ontario with its Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). Other provinces also have similar acts and legislation in progress.

Illustrated laptop showing the Canadian flag on the screen and two accessibility badges flying out of it.
By Province


The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) is enforced in Ontario to identify, remove, and prevent barriers for people with disabilities.



The Accessibility for Manitobans Act was passed in December 2013, with a commitment to achieve an inclusive Manitoba for everyone by 2023.


Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia’s Accessibility Act aims to remove barriers to accessibility, including that of information and communications, to become accessible by 2030.


British Columbia

The British Columbia Accessibility Act aims to make the province inclusive in accordance with WCAG 2.0 (AA) by 2024 .


In Europe, accessibility legislation is primarily governed by the European Union and there are currently two primary pieces of legislation governing accessibility. In the UK, accessibility legislation is similar to the EU as they adopted many of the same principles whilst still a member state.

Illustrated laptop showing the EU flag on the screen and two accessibility badges flying out of it.

EU Web Accessibility Directive

The European Union (EU) Web Accessibility Directive requires EU member states to ensure that public sector bodies meet web accessibility standards.


UK Accessibility Regulations

The UK Public Sector Bodies Accessibility Regulations from 2018 mandates the accessibility of websites and mobile applications.


European Accessibility Act

The European Accessibility Act (EAA) is a directive of the EU that legally requires EU member states to enact various accessibility requirements by 2025.


Website accessibility regulations in the Asia-Pacific region are mandated by national laws and legislations. Accessibility legislation is slowly gaining traction, and there is a growing interest and focus on ensuring digital inclusivity and accessibility.

Illustrated laptop with two accessibility badges, a yellow globe and purple hearts flying out of it.

Australian Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) 1992

Under the DDA legislation, the provision of information and online services through the web is a legal requirement.


New Zealand Web Accessibility Standard 1.1

The standard mandates that all public service and non-public service agencies must ensure that their websites meet WCAG standard 2.1.


Singapore’s Enabling Masterplan 2030

National roadmaps for the government and community to better work together and support persons with disabilities.

Want More Information on Accessibility?

Get the datasheet to learn more about the product and how you can benefit from it.

Cover of the Accessibility Data Sheet

Make Your Website Accessible With Monsido

Take the first step towards a more inclusive website, and get a complimentary accessibility scan to identify issues and errors on your website.
Graphs and tables displaying analytics results inside the Monsido platform
Graphs and tables displaying analytics results inside the Monsido platform